SA School Sports



Last updateTue, 04 Dec 2018 12pm

   Join our newsletter here:      


Back You are here: Home Sports Cricket Other Hockey: Kearsney Hockey 5's Tournament
Thursday, 16 August 2018 00:00

Hockey: Kearsney Hockey 5's Tournament

A highly successful second Kearsney Hockey 5s tournament wrapped up on Sunday, 12 August with Jeppe Boys High from Gauteng beating Westville Boys’ High 5-2 in the final.


Hosts Kearsney College lost to St Andrews from Bloemfontein in the 3rd-4ths play-off; with Parktown Boys (Johannesburg) placing 5th, HoërskoolGarsfontein (Pretoria) 6th, Glenwood 7th, Affies (Pretoria) 8th, Clifton College 9th, Michaelhouse 10th, Thomas More 11th and DHS 12th.

The 5s is a simplified version of the traditional 11-a-side game, fielding five players a side, on half the regulatory sized hockey pitch, with an addition of boundary walls. The event was sponsored by synthetic sports turf manufacturer Belgotex.

Twelve primary school teams - from Bonisanani Primary, Curro HCA, Highbury, Hillcrest Primary, Kloof Senior Primary, Northlands, Pelham Senior Primary, Reddam House Umhlanga, St Peter’s Prep, Umhlali Prep and Westville Senior Primary – also participated in a junior festival. St Peter’s Prep from Gauteng won the junior section’s Team Spirit Award.

The Kearsney 5s team comprised Hayden de Kock (captain), Enzo Cocciante, Chase Kelly, David Hudson, Joshua Barrett, Luyanda Chiliza, James Maguire, Campbell Duckworth and Dylan Thompson.

Photographer: ROB CARPENTER