SA School Sports



Last updateTue, 04 Dec 2018 12pm

   Join our newsletter here:      


Back You are here: Home Sports Cricket Eastern Cape Cricket: Graeme College Sign off the Season with T20 Trophy
Monday, 19 November 2018 09:59

Cricket: Graeme College Sign off the Season with T20 Trophy

The Graeme College First Team rewrote the history books this weekend when they clinched the Shaw/Brown T20 Trophy for the first time.

With the three Grahamstown teams having fantastically strong line-ups, it was brilliant for Graeme to come out on top. Add that to the fact that this team made it to the finals of the national CSA T20 tournament, and it is clear to accept that they have lived up to their potential and more. They have been superb!

Graeme had to beat Kingswood to give themselves a chance of winning the trophy, after the incredible tied match against St Andrew's the night before. Somehow St Andrew's College snuck back into the T20 game after looking well beaten, and managed to tie the match against all odds.

Batting first St Andrew's scored an impressive 156/ 3 after their 20 overs. Peter Jarvis (67) and Guy Rushmere (57 not out) were superb. For Graeme, Siphesihle Madlongolwana was the pick of the bowlers claiming 2 for 22.

Bavuyise Manyakanyaka (49) and Chris Gleaves (43) seemed to have the game wrapped up, but pressure caused some panic in the batting order. Graeme ended on 156 as well, needing one run off the last ball to win. Match tied! 

On Saturday against Kingswood, they seemed to find the sublime form that they had played with in recent weeks. Graeme got off to a great start with Romario Fritz (40) and Bavu Manyakanyaka (35) batting with such great maturity and determination.

That set the tone for the whole match. The Kingswood spinners bowled superbly and brought some control back from the Graeme batsmen. Mark Amm (22 not out) had to also show his maturity against some phenomenal death bowling from Caleb Daniels (who conceded 13 runs in 3 overs) and Blaine Archibald who has been brilliant in every match.

Archibald claimed 3 for 20, and managed to restrict Graeme to 131/ 7 in their 20 overs. A score that both teams would have been comfortable with.

Graeme were confident of defending the target but knew that they needed to be at their best. Unfortunately for Kingswood, Graeme were at their VERY best. A pumped up team were clinical from the first ball, bowling Kingswood out for 79. Siphesihle Madlongolwana (3 for 17) was outstanding with the new ball, and put Kingswood on the back foot straight away. There was a lot to still do when the skipper introduced Sihle Mginywa into the attack. Sihle has been in brilliant form, and he struck twice in another superb spell taking 2 for 14. Liam Agnew (2 for 11) and Garwin Dampies (2 for 7) kept up the pressure. It was a superb bowling and fielding performance enabling Graeme to win by 52 runs.

Later, Kingswood showed their ability as they beat St Andrew's. Justin Potgieter blazed 130 in a remarkable knock, which meant that Graeme ended the only unbeaten team, and therefore the 2018 champions without any other calculations needed.

What a day for the Graeme matrics to play their last match and win so convincingly.

Romario Fritz ends with more than 2200 runs. Chris Gleaves topped yet another fine performance with 5 dismissals against Kingswood. He had another brilliant day behind the stumps, showing his class as an all-round cricketer. He ends up the top run scorer with more than 2300 runs. Bavuyise Manyakanyaka has been in quite scary form of late, and ends with 1200 runs. Sihle Mginywa has led the bowling attack and ends with 89 wickets at a quite unbelievable bowling average of 12.8. Liam Agnew ends his school career with 80 wickets. In the all rounders bracket, Jeremy Beyleveld was huge for Graeme. He scored more than 1600 runs and took 62 wickets for the 1st XI. Likewise Mark Amm has been a huge cog for the Graeme side. The skipper scored more than 1900 runs and took a mammoth 114 wickets. These young men have left a legacy and inculcated a strong cricket culture. And there are some fine cricketers that remain in the likes of Lakhanya Sam, Siphesihle Madlongolwana, Garwin Dampies and Riaan Labuschagne. This squad has a total 866 first team caps, which is something that won't be equalled for a very long time.

Related items