SA School Sports



Last updateTue, 04 Dec 2018 12pm

   Join our newsletter here:      


Back You are here: Home Sports Hockey Western Cape Hockey: Ready, Steady Go! U18 Fest in Cape Town
Tuesday, 17 July 2012 15:00

Hockey: Ready, Steady Go! U18 Fest in Cape Town

 The 2012 Under-18 Cape Town International Schools/Clubs Hockey Festival kicks off on Tuesday, July 17 with the grand opening ceremony at 4 pm at Hartleyvale Hockey Stadium and continues until Finals Day on Sunday, July 22.

hockey festivalThe festival is now in its ninth year and there are 32 schools and youth club teams entered, among whom are the New South Wales Bushrangers Under-18 boys’ and girls’ teams, comprising players from Sydney and surrounding areas.

This is their fifth visit to Cape Town and they always provide strong opposition, not surprising considering that Australia’s Kookaburras men’s national team are the number one side in the world and hot favourites to win the London 2012 Olympic Games, which starts at the end of the month.

The United Kingdom is represented by two schools - Kingston Grammar School (boys) and Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Wakefield (boys).

St John’s College (boys) and Chisipite School (girls) are the teams from Zimbabwe,

A host of Western Cape schools; Wynberg Boys’ High, Rondebosch, Paul Roos Gim, Stellenberg, DF Malan, Hugenote, Parel Vallei, Pinelands, Edgemead, Paarl Boys’ High, Rhenish Girls’ High, Somerset College, Reddam House and Bloemhof will be joined by visiting schools Pretoria Girls’ High, Outeniqua High and York High.

All matches will be played on top-rated Astro pitches at Hartleyvale Hockey Stadium, the University of Cape Town, Wynberg Boys’ High, Bergvliet High and DF Malan High

The Pool matches for the 16 teams are from 9am to 7pm on Wednesday, July 18; Thursday, July 19 and Friday, July 20, with finals day on Sunday, July 22. The Friday is a rest day.

It all points to some wonderful youth hockey for the people of Cape town to enjoy.



Group A: NSW Bushrangers (Aus), Outeniqua, Parel Vallei, Bergvliet HS.

Group B: Rondebosch, Kingston Grammar (Eng), Paarl Gim, Edgemead.

Group C: Wynberg, Queen Elizabeth Grammar (Eng), Paarl, Pinelands.

Group D: Paul Roos, St John’s College (Zim), Hugenote, DF Malan.



Group A: NSW Bushrangers (Aus), Paarl Gim, Rhenish, Bergvliet.

Group B: Chisipite School (Zim), Stellenberg, Somerset College, Edgemead.

Group C: Reddam House, Outeniqua, Bloemhof, Pinelands.

Group D: Pretoria Girls’ High, DF Malan, Parel Vallei, York High.